Area Learning Communities

Area Learning Communities (ALCs) allows schools to look at and begin to plan, individually and collectively, for delivery on an area basis.

ALCs provide a real opportunity to develop the Entitlement Framework and a shared responsibility for its delivery for all of the young people in an area.

The Curriculum Entitlement Framework will guarantee all pupils greater choice and flexibility by providing them with access to a wide range of learning opportunities suited to their needs, aptitudes and interests, irrespective of where they live or the school they attend. Schools will have to offer pupils access to a minimum of 21 courses at Key Stage 4 and 21 courses at post-16. At least one third of these courses should be general and at least one third applied.

A growing number of schools are now engaged with their local College in innovative and creative approaches to collaborative working. There are currently ALCs established across the Northern Ireland within which schools and Colleges are working to increase the range of courses for pupils in the local area.

Armagh Area Learning Community

The Armagh Area Learning Community consists of seven schools. The chairperson of the Armagh ALC is David Cunningham, Principal, Royal School Armagh. The Schools include:

  • City of Armagh High School
  • Royal School Armagh
  • Lisanally Special School
  • Markethill High School
  • St Catherine's College
  • St Patrick's Grammar
  • St Patrick's High School
Banbridge Area Learning Community

The Banbridge Area Learning Community consists of seven schools. The chairperson of the Banbridge ALC is Ian McConaghy, Principal, Dromore College. The Schools include:

  • Banbridge Academy
  • Banbridge High School
  • Donard Special School
  • Dromore High School
  • Newbridge Integrated College
  • Rathfriland High School
  • St Patrick's College
Craigavon Area Learning Community

The Craigavon Area Learning Community consists of eleven schools. The chairperson of the Craigavon ALC is Raymond Hill, Principal, Clounagh Junior High School. The Schools include:

  • Brownlow College
  • Clounagh Junior High School
  • Craigavon Senior High School
  • St. John the Baptist’s College
  • Lismore Comprehensive
  • St Ronan's College
  • Tandragee Junior High School
  • Lurgan College
  • Lurgan Junior High School
  • Portadown College
Newry Area Learning Community

The Newry Area Learning Community consists of fourteen schools. The chairperson of the Newry ALC is Caroline Currie, Principal, Rathmore School. The Schools include:

  • Abbey Christian Brothers School
  • Kilkeel High School
  • Newry High School
  • Newtownhamilton High School
  • Our Lady's Grammar School
  • Rathore School
  • Sacred Heart
  • St Colman's College
  • St Joseph's Boys High School Newry
  • St Joseph's High School Crossmaglen
  • St Louis Grammar School
  • St Mark's High School
  • St Mary's High School
  • St Paul's High School